Scout Tee Pattern Review by Mallory Hill

I have always had a desire to create my own capsule wardrobe, but I have very little experience with garment sewing so I knew I needed a simple pattern to build my confidence. I read many reviews about The Scout Tee by Grainline Studio, and the ease and versatility of their pattern, so I was convinced I could give it a shot.

scoutofficial
Photo Credit: Grainline Studio

You have the option to purchase a paper pattern or a PDF, the paper pattern is available from your favorite independent fabric shop (If you are local to Columbus you can pick it up from Sew To Speak), or you can purchase the PDF from Grainline Studio’s website. I have the PDF version and it was simple to print and put together, only 18 pages to print with just 4 pattern pieces.

I purchased all of my fabric at Sew To Speak and I got great advice from an employee who had made a Scout Tee herself. She advised me on fabric choices and let me know that the pattern runs a little short, which was critical information considering I’m almost six feet tall. There really is no substitution for first hand knowledge at your local fabric shop!

scout3b

With loads of unearned optimism, I decided to start by cutting and sewing 3 shirts at a time. I made 2 regular shirts and then I decided to try a version I had seen on Pinterest, my first garment pattern hack!

scout-pattern

I put everything together and added about three inches where the instructions indicated, that’s why my pattern looks a little chopped up in the middle. I also made the measurements and adjustments for a color blocked version.

The pattern itself is well written with simple illustrations, the most difficult step for me (the bias neckline) also has a link to a great photo tutorial on their website that was extremely helpful.

Overall I am thrilled with all three of my new shirts, they are loose fitting, comfortable and versatile. It’s the perfect pattern for a beginner garment sewer and has a lot of opportunity to customize to fit your needs and style.

scout3

Fabric used, left to right:

Labyrinthine in Dawn by Maureen Cracknell for Art Gallery Fabrics
Lemons Trees in Mint by Sarah Watts for Cotton + Steel
Mesh With Me in Worn by April Rhodes for Art Gallery Fabrics



img_5108Mallory Hill has been sewing since she was young but didn’t pick it up seriously until she was out of college. That’s when she first started working in the fabric and sewing industry and her passion has grown as she continued to work for various textile companies for the past 10 years. She has two daughters and has recently re-located back to her home state of Ohio.

Visit, www.craftinoutlaws.com to learn more about the longest running alternate craft fair in town. 

Leave a Reply

