Cross Stitch Kit Review

cs3

I am known to buy craft supplies and kits even when I don’t necessarily have plans for them or even time to work with them. It’s been almost a year since I purchased this kit at the Midwest Craft Con in February, and I am just now finally putting it to use!  For the sake of my own self-respect let’s just pretend this is the oldest kit I have yet to use.

Purchased from The Hoop & Needle, an amazing shop in Cincinnati, Ohio that focuses on hand embroidery and cross stitch, I just couldn’t resist giving it a whirl. I’ve seen these little family portraits on social media and pinterest and I’ve always wanted to try my own. Considering I have never created my own counted cross stitch pattern, or even cross stitched before, I was just a little intimidated.  Rest assured friends, this is a story with a happy ending.

cs1-copy

The kit includes everything you need to get started; the pattern, the cloth, needle, embroidery floss and a hoop. There are minimal instructions on the actual stitching so I watched a few YouTube videos to get me started. The planning stage was actually quite fun, with the provided graph paper I sketched out my family.  I enjoyed tailoring the look of the characters to match my little family, even making the necessary revisions for my folically challenged husband! Coloring in all those little squares and watching the portrait come together will get you hooked, and if you are anything like me, you won’t be able to put it down until you are done!

cs2

Finding my starting point, I got started with one of the shirts, then subsequently pulled half of it out because I realized I was counting wrong! I was much more successful the second time around! A preemptive word of encouragement; If you are new to cross stitch (or even if you aren’t) you will probably make lots of little mistakes, which is totally fine, because it is super easy to pull out stitches and start again.  As I worked through little pieces and parts, it was awesome to see each little person come to life. You finish off with the family name using a backstitch, which is more of an embroidery stitch so I recommend you look that up on YouTube as well if you are not familiar with the method. 

cs7

Overall, I loved this pattern and I am so happy with my finished piece, I would highly recommend this for any skill level. Beginners will need a little patience as you learn a new skill but overall I felt like I caught on pretty quickly. The kit comes with a lot of embroidery floss to get you started, I did find that a few colors that I wanted to use were not there (purple and red) so I would highly recommend planning your colors in advance, especially if you don’t have a stash of floss already, so you don’t have to make multiple trips to the store in the middle of your project. Thanks to Hoop & Needle for this awesome kit, I can’t wait to find a special spot for my new family portrait.



img_5108Mallory Hill has been sewing since she was young but didn’t pick it up seriously until she was out of college. That’s when she first started working in the fabric and sewing industry and her passion has grown as she continued to work for various textile companies for the past 10 years. She has two daughters and has recently re-located back to her home state of Ohio.

Craftin’ Outlaws is a handmade marketplace, established in 2005 and based in Columbus, Ohio. Our next fair is  December 10, 2016 at the Greater Columbus Convention Center.

Visit, www.craftinoutlaws.com to learn more about the longest running alternate craft fair in town. 

 

Leave a Reply

