Studio Tour with Outlaws assistant Mallory Hill

mallory-hill-01

What is your name, business name and what do you make?

My name is Mallory and I own Mallory Hill Designs, I make purses and accessories for women and children. 

What is your handmade background?

I’ve been sewing since I was about 6 years old, my mom was an amazing quilter and she taught my sisters and I how to make pillows and little quilts when we were young. I didn’t start to sew seriously until I graduated from college, when I got my first sewing machine and a job in the fabric industry, launching my obsession with fabric and crafting.

What do you love most about the creative process?

I love making something from nothing, transforming a flat piece of fabric into a purse or a quilt is very exciting. I love the meditative feel I get working on a new project and figuring out how to make a pattern from a tiny bit of inspiration.

What has been your biggest struggle in running your business?

I struggle with this daily, I’ve sewn for a while but I didn’t seriously start my business until about a year ago. I have a very hard time deciding on my focus – craft shows, wholesale or etsy, or all of them. Should I make purses or baby quilts or the next random idea I have. I need to figure this out soon if I want to keep moving forward, finding a focus and sticking with it will allow me to enjoy greater success.

What are your currently listening to/watching while you craft?

I have a few podcasts that I listen to regularly or I just listen to music on Spotify. Some of my favorite podcasts are; The Merriweather Council Podcast, Elise Gets Crafty, Raise Your Hand Say Yes with Tiffany Han and This American Life.

Can you take us on a tour of your craft space?

My space takes up the basement level of our house, shared with some storage and the laundry. It started out as a blank slate and I had fun fitting all of my stuff into the new space. These pictures show it clean and organized, probably for the first and last time.  It’s usually a hot mess but I feel like that’s what it should look like if it’s being used.

There are a lot of little nooks and crannies to store my wide assortment of random craft supplies and a lot of space for hanging up my random postcards, magnets and custom artwork from my daughters.

room4

room3

room6              room9

room8

What is your favorite part of your space?

There is a little nook along the side of the room that is half height, when I saw the house I immediately knew that would be a special space for my little girls. I finished it out and filled it with all of the craft supplies little ones could want. I try my best (often begrudgingly) to share my supplies with them and give them free range of their space.

room7

room5

Rapid Fire:

What is your favorite crafting material?

Fabric, all of it, I have more than I will ever need but I can’t stop buying it.

room1

What is your favorite tool?

I’ve had my sewing machine for about 6 years and I still love working with it. Also, my seam rippers, I have a few of them because I need them a lot!

room2

Most common word or phrase when you make a mistake?

Sh*t!

Favorite snack while working?

Anything chocolate but I try to keep it to a minimum so my products aren’t covered in it when they go out the door.

What is one craft/technique that you’ve never done that you want to try?

I just received a serger for my birthday and I haven’t had time to use it yet. Although it’s still sewing, it’s a new machine and a whole new process so I’m looking forward to learning it.

One tool or piece of equipment that is on your wish list?

More fabric? Just kidding, the serger was on my list for a while, I can’t think of anything else I need right now (just don’t tell my husband I said that).



img_5108Mallory Hill has been sewing since she was young but didn’t pick it up seriously until she was out of college. That’s when she first started working in the fabric and sewing industry and her passion has grown as she continued to work for various textile companies for the past 10 years. She has two daughters and has recently re-located back to her home state of Ohio.

Craftin’ Outlaws is a handmade marketplace, established in 2005 and based in Columbus, Ohio. Our next fair is  December 10, 2016 at the Greater Columbus Convention Center.

Visit, www.craftinoutlaws.com to learn more about the longest running alternate craft fair in town. 

2 thoughts on “Studio Tour with Outlaws assistant Mallory Hill

Leave a Reply

